All posts by Hazel Berry

Sonning Deanery Synod – September 2019

SONNING DEANERY SYNOD

MEMBERSHIP LIST AT SEPTEMBER 2019

ARBORFIELD WITH BARKHAM  
Revd Piers Bickersteth office@abch.org.uk  
Revd Julian Bidgood julian@abch.org.uk  
Revd Mark Huddleston mark@abch.org.uk  
Revd Andrew Kearns andrewpkearns@gmail.com  

 

ARBORFIELD
Mrs Poppy Brown poppy.turner@hotmail.com  
Mrs Amy Dawson amydawson800@gmail.com  
Mrs Gillian Kaiser gill.kaiser@aol.co.uk  

 

BARKHAM  
Mr Michael Byrne michael.r.byrne@gmail.com Quinquennial Inspection Secretary
Mr David Horrocks djhorrocks@sky.com  
Ms Charlotte Wilde c.l.smith@reading.ac.uk  

 

CHRIST CHURCH WOKINGHAM
Mr Simon Fawkes sajfawkes@gmail.com  
Mrs Ellen Crewe ellen.crewe@btopenworld.com  

 

CROWTHORNE  
Revd Lisa Cornwell revlisacornwell@aol.com  
Revd David Ramsbottom d.j.ramsbottom@btinternet.com  
Mrs Carol Frost carolf58@hotmail.com  
Mrs Gillian Gyenes gilliangyenes@gmail.com  
Mrs Jenny McKeever jennimckeever@hotmail.com  
Mr Leigh Welham leigh.welham@hotmail.co.uk  

 

FINCHAMPSTEAD AND CALIFORNIA WITH ST ELIGIUS
Revd Canon Julie Ramsbottom Julie.ramsbottom@talk21.com  
Revd Canon John Edwards J7r7e7@gmail.com  
Revd Julian McAllen julianmcallen@hotmail.com  
Revd Tonia Elliott Tonia@steligius.church Standing Committee
Revd Gemma Wilkinson reveredngemmaw@outlook.com  
Mrs Nicola Alder nicky@alder.ndo.co.uk  
Mrs Carolyn Fox carolynfox@aol.com  
Mr Martin Hughes MHughes976@aol.com Diocesan Synod
Mr James Lawbuary jameslawbuary@yahoo.com  
Mr Richard Owen r.owen111@btinternet.com  
Mrs Sharon White Slwhite4@btinternet.com  
Vacancy        

 

OWLSMOOR
Revd Catherine Vaughan vicar@stgeorgeowlsmoor.org.uk Standing Committee
Mrs Penny Crane mail@pennycrane.co.uk  
Mrs Bridget Crossley bridget.crossley@web-hq.com Secretary
Mr Brian Francis brian.francis@btinternet.com  

 

PERMISSION TO OFFICIATE
Revd Colin James colinjames@waitrose.com  
Revd Jane Kraft revdjanekraft@btinternet.com Associate Area Dean

 

RUSCOMBE AND TWYFORD WITH HURST

Revd Anna Harwood harwoodanna@yahoo.co.uk  
Mrs Pauline Humphreys pauline_humphreys@hotmail.com Standing Committee
Ms Rachel Leitch-Devlin rleitchdevlin@gmail.com  
Mrs Audrey Nettle No email  
Vacancy      
 

HURST

Mrs Sue Payne sue.payne90@yahoo.co.uk  
Mrs Jenny Beasley Jenny.beasley1@btinternet.com  

 

SANDHURST

Revd John Castle rector@stmichaels-sandhurst.org.uk  
Mr Rupert Cremer-Evans rupert@cremer-evans.co.uk  
Mrs Jan Herd jan_herd@hotmail.com  
Mr John Martin johnc.martin@btinternet.com  
Mrs Sue Campbell suecampbell2906@btinternet.com  

 

SONNING
Revd Jamie Taylor revjaft@yahoo.co.uk  
Revd Katie Toogood kltoogood@yahoo.com  
Mrs Hilary Rennie hilary@renniefamily.net  
Mr Rory Symes rory@canhurst.com  
Mrs Molly Woodley mollywoodley@live.co.uk  
Vacancy        
Vacancy        

 

 

 

WARGRAVE WITH KNOWL HILL

Revd John Cook johnrmcook@btconnect.com  
Revd Hugh Barne hughbarne@googlemail.com Diocesan Synod
Revd Stephen Turville Stephen.turville@ntlworld.com  
Mrs Sue Griffiths griffithssue@yahoo.co.uk  
Mr Richard Lloyd shingleberry@gmail.com  
Mrs Sheila Williams sheilamarywilliams1952@gmail.com  
Vacancy        
Vacancy        

 

WINNERSH

Revd James Warren ssmarycath@gmx.co.uk  
Mrs Joanna Brown brown.joannal@gmail.com  
Mrs Alison Vacher apmvacher@gmail.com  
Vacancy        

 

WOKINGHAM ALL SAINTS

Revd Canon David Hodgson david@allsaintswokingham.org.uk  
Revd Hannah Higginson reverendhannah@gmail.com  
Mr Peter Barrett peter.barrett500@gmail.com Diocesan Synod
Mrs Anne King anne@bardofamily.co.uk  
Mrs Judith Scott judithscott762@btinternet.com Standing Committee and Diocesan Synod
Mr John Smith john_jjsa@hotmail.com Lay Chair and Diocesan Synod
Mr Stephen Smith barbara.stephen@gmail.com  

 

WOKINGH ST PAUL

Revd Richard Lamey richard.lamey@spauls.org.uk Area Dean and Diocesan Synod
Revd Patrick Mukholi patrick.mukholi@spauls.org.uk  
Revd Judi Hattaway judihattaway@mac.com  
Miss Geraldine Lea geraldine.lea@ntlworld.com  
Mr David Ruddock d.ruddock@hotmail.co.uk  
Mr John Sutton pjsuttonhome@gmail.com  
Mr Peter Wells peter.wells@spauls.org.uk  

 

WOKINGHAM ST SEBASTIAN

Revd Canon Andrew Marsden vicar@stsebastians.org.uk  
Mr David Hare dhare58@yahoo.co.uk  
Mr Richard Tudor richardkg_tudor@hotmail.co.uk  
Mr John Congram Johnsally368@gmail.com  
Ms Janet Rogers janet.rogers1@sky.com  
Mr Nigel Birch birch.nigel@btinternet.com  

 

 

 

WOOSEHILL

Mr John   Hoskins   johnhoskins@talk21.com  
Mr Geoff   Peck   geoffpeck@hotmail.com  
Mr Tony   Sayer   tony.sayer@ntlworld.com  

Lecture

Morally Courageous Leadership,

The Winder Lecture, Warfield,
Sunday 3 November, 7pm

With Major General Tim Cross, CBE, former Director General of the UK Defence Supply Chain. He served in the first Gulf War, in Iraq, the Balkans and Northern Ireland.  Flyer

St Frideswide Day

St Frideswide Day
Saturday 19 October 
The Priory, on which our Cathedral was built, was an important destination for medieval pilgrims.

On 19 October there will be a range of guided walks of varying lengths, bringing pilgrims into the city of Oxford from all points of the compass and all corners of the Diocese to a 4pm
St Frideswide Pilgrimage Service.

Website

Café Théologique

Café Théologique

Zero Degrees Bar, Bridge St. Reading
All welcome, no charge, no booking

“Faith and Wisdom in Science: The Science-Religion ‘Conflict’ Lie”
Monday 7 October, 7.30pm, 
Tom McLeish FRS, Professor of Natural Philosophy at the University of York, will be exploring why science and faith aren’t in conflict.

“’We go to another world and God gives us his respect’:
Spirituality and People with Learning Disabilities”
Monday 4 November, 7.30pm,
Rachel Forrester-Jones, Professor of Social Policy at the University of Bath whose research focuses on advancing the social inclusion of vulnerable adults through social networks and social support

Prayer Cycle for September

SONNING   DEANERY   PRAYER   CYCLE
______________________________________________

No. 81                                                         September 2019

This month our special focus is on St Paul’s Wokingham, St Nicholas Embrook and Woosehill

 Please pray for:

Rector & Area Dean:  Rev’d Richard Lamey
Team Vicar:                      Rev’d Patrick Mukholi,
Assistant Priest:            Rev’d Judi Hattaway
Associate Priest:           Rev’d Jane Kraft
Church Wardens:         David Ruddock and Peter Wells
PCC Secretary:              Lesley Ruddock
Treasurer:                         Lyn Austen
Office Administrator:Louise Cole
Director of Music:       Louise Turner

The Community Church St Nicholas Emmbrook

Pro Wardens:               Liz Gallagher and Fiona Albinson
Secretary:                       Anne Armitage
Treasurer:                      Tony Roberts
Parish Pioneer:            Paul Armitage

Woosehill Community Church

Methodist Minister: Rev’d Catherine Bowstead
Methodist Preacher: Doreen Murgatroyd

In the Parishes please pray for:

  • That the insights we learnt through the PMC process about each other and about our mission to the community will become the essence of our identity, enabling us to see God at work all around us
  • Our new pastoral care groups at St Paul’s (called Tithings) will become a valued way of offering each other support and encouragement on the road as disciples
  • For new leaders and volunteers to respond to God’s call on their lives
  • For each Church to continue to look as if we believe what we sing, enjoy what we do and can’t imagine being anywhere else on a Sunday morning and during the week. That we are in the place God calls us to be and the places He sends us into in his name and in his Spirit.

In the Deanery please pray for:

  • St Eligius Church, Alpha Course starting on September 24th
  • St John the Baptist Crowthorne, Christian Spirituality Course: Mondays Sept: 9,16, 23,30 Oct: 7,14,21.
  • All young people starting new school, colleges, employment
  • All our Churches as activities start up again after the break and that we all return refreshed and re-invigorated..

Hazel Berry: sonningdeaneryprojects@googlemail.com

Synod Sermon

A REFLECTION FOR THE DEANERY SYNOD AGM EUCHARIST
on Luke 5.1-11
June 25th 2019

A good moment to think about what is a Deanery? And what is it for?

1)    The Deanery is a necessary legal and administrative function, a means of communication and connection between the parish and the Diocese, between the clergy and the Bishop.

2)    The Deanery is a reminder of the breadth of the Church of England in all of its range and adventure, that we are connected and united across different ethical positions and different ways of reading Scripture and listening to the voice and guidance of God. We do not get to choose who we worship next to Sunday by Sunday and we do not get to choose who else is an Anglican. The challenge in that is to make sure that we actually actively engage with each other and don’t leave those differences unspoken but dominant in the corner.

3)    The Deanery is a community of prayer and worship who support and encourage each other, and journey together-

e.g. Synod

  • when someone local introduces an idea
  • the prayer cycle
  • the new support groups we are setting up of Wardens and Treasurers… all allow us to know that we don’t travel alone but are part of something bigger and broader and wider and more effective than just us. In some ways the Deanery is a local antidote to too much parochialism. It opens us up to new ideas and new possibilities and in that openness and potential God can work wonderfully.

4)    And in all of this, as the Church, we are called to let down our nets in deep water. At Diocesan Synod this month Bishop Steven gave an address on the reading we have just heard from Luke Chapter 5. He establishes two principles-

  • that the call to let down our nets is from Christ himself and Christ alone,
  • that letting down our nets will look different in every Deanery and parish. It will not be the same because every place is unique and particular and so is every Church community. Such difference is, to quote, “something to delight in for its own sake.”

Continue reading Synod Sermon

WHO’S WHO IN SONNING DEANERY

Who’s Who in the Sonning Deanery

Area Dean: Revd Richard Lamey H: 0118 327 9116
W: 0118 979 2122.  e-mail: richardlamey@btinternet.com

Lay Chair: John Smith 0118 979 0948, M: 07789 290 996 john_jjsahotmail.com

Secretary: Bridget Crossley 01344 751456 bridget.crossleyweb-hq.com

Treasurer: Vacant

Quinquennial Inspection Secretary: Michael Byrne

Ecumenical Representative: David Hare

Members of the Standing Committee:  Revd Canon Julie Ramsbottom, John Smith, Revd Richard Lamey, Bridget Crossley, Gillian Gyenes,  Pauline Humphreys, Judith Scott, Rev’d Catherine Vaughan, Sharon White.

Representatives on Diocesan Synod: Revd Piers Bickersteth, Gillian Gyenes, Revd Hannah Higginson, Martin Hughes, Geraldine Lea, Revd Canon Andrew Marsden, Judith Scott, John Smith.

Intercessions from High Leigh Conference

Intercessions: opening worship of the High Leigh Conference 2019

God of compassion, we remember today
Those for whom earthquakes, wind or fire
Has brought chaos and destruction.
For those who have lost everyone and everything they love.
We hold in our hearts and before you, those for whom the future is uncertain because of ill health, precarious relationships, or economic challenge; and those for whom the end of life in near.
And we share in in joy, with those experiencing new birth, new life and fresh starts – full of hope and expectation.
We bring before you our sacred and beautiful planet, teaming with life, renewal and healing forces.
May we do all we can to halt and mitigate the slow death of biodiversity
The continuous assault on what you have made.

God of mystery,
Where are you
When the world flings demands
Like a rain squall at the window,
When the pressure to perform steals us from ourselves,
When grasping for our future leaves us empty handed?
Where are you
When confusion is in heady ascendance,
When digging for surety lacerates and fragments?
Where are you in the fray,
In the tangled threads of feeling with no beginning or end?

God of our depths, be with us.
Do not rescue, but hold us;
Befriend, and reacquaint us
With our roots,
Our core,Our true desires.

Help us to know
How slowly moves the deep;
our connection to earth
and stars,
and the life that is you.

Help us to know
What we carry inside;
a space that does not always, or often,
know its shape
or size,
or what its purpose is.

Help us to know
That beyond our striving and our need
All you are is love,
And all we have is you.

Amen

 Alison Webster May 2019

OUR DEANERY

WHAT IS A DEANERY
The Diocese of Oxford is divided into four smaller ‘episcopal Areas’, three of them overseen by their own Area Bishop. One such area is Reading. Each area is then further split into deaneries. The deaneries of the Reading Episcopal Area are: Bracknell, Bradfield, Maidenhead and Windsor, Newbury, Reading and Sonning. Sonning Deanery stretches from Wargrave in the north to Sandhurst in the south. It contains 12 benefices with 23 places of worship in a mixed rural, semirural and urban setting. Our current Area Dean is the Revd Richard Lamey, Rector of the three Churches of the Parish of St Paul, Wokingham. 

What does the deanery give to the parish/benefice?
The deanery represents a manageable level of organisation between a parish/benefice and the Diocese/Archdeaconry. Its aim is to assist churches to do things together that they could not do on their own; to support and encourage clergy in a role which can often be isolated and pressured; to perform an administrative function (eg allocating the Parish Share/organising building inspections); to act for the Archdeacon on inspections; to offer ideas, challenge and inspiration through meetings; to offer prayer and encouragement for each other; to work together towards input to the diocese; and to support mission and ministry in the parish/benefice.

What is a deanery synod?
The deanery synod has a membership of all clergy who are licensed to a parish/benefice within the deanery, plus elected lay members from every parish. The larger your Electoral Roll, the more members you are entitled to elect. Members meet approximately four times a year at varying venues throughout the deanery. All meetings include a financial report, including reports on Parish Share, followed by a talk. Over the past year, lay discipleship, fundraising, and human sexuality have been discussed. All members share in a Eucharist service at one of the meetings. Currently, the Deanery Plan is being finalised. The emphasis of this plan will be on those areas of mission that can be done better as a deanery than as individual parishes: for example, outreach into new communities, empowerment of lay leaders, shared training courses, to name but a few.

What is Deanery Chapter?
Clergy within the deanery meet monthly over lunch at Deanery Chapter. These meetings form an important basis for support, challenge and collegiality for clergy to learn from each other and from those who address the meeting.

Regular Prayer Letters are sent out from the Deanery- do please use those intentions as a way of weaving us all together in prayer.

Pauline Humphreys (Deanery Synod Standing Committee Member)

 

 

Resources

DEATH AND LIFE WEBSITE

Christian Resources for Living Well
in the Light of Mortality
 
Inspirational resources to help ministers and pastoral leaders support conversations on death and dying. Visit this new website for a course, workshop, prayer walk, sermon starters, reflection cards, Bible studies and meditations.